The Point

Many have asked me why I created this blog, or were confused why I asked people to visit. Here's the reason: Have you ever driven in NH and seen a license plate in front of you that makes you wonder what they were thinking? If you say no, then you're lying. The general population of NH that utilizes the free custom plate option tend to make a bad decision on what their plates say. However, in their slight defense...there are so many custom plates that all the necessary ones are taken. Thus, we are left with the UNNECESSARY!

Thanks for visiting, come back soon and comment often!

Monthly Featured Plate

Monthly Featured Plate
July 2010 - Sent via Text

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

TRKSTR

Today's plate is: TRKSTR

This could go one of two ways. I could comment on Trickster or Track Star. Or both!

If I see a plate in front of me that says TRKSTR, and I assume that they are a trickster, I will start evaluating their choices in a different way. For instance, when my brother knows I'm following him in an unfamiliar place he puts on his left blinker when turning right, and vice versa. My husband does the same thing. I have learned that no matter what, plan to go the opposite direction. Thus, when this trickster puts on their right blinker, I will go ahead and giggle because they are obviously turning left. Then I will attempt to pass them on the right. A motorcycle once did this to me, however I am not a trickster and was actually planning to take said right turn. He crashed into my car. Unlucky day for him...you know what happens when motorcyclists assume...

If I see a plate in front of me that says TRKSTR, and I assume that they are a Track Star, I am going to think twice about trying to get away with a hit and run. The driver very well may be able to catch up with me because he is quite the runner. I also may refrain from giving them the finger and then turning into the parking lot of my neighborhood grocery store. He may also park his car and run me down...literally.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

LNG2FLY

Today's plate is: LNG2FLY

I guess if you really wanted to fly you should buy a plane. Unfortunately in the year 2010 we do not have hovercrafts or jetpacked skateboards. I know, I'm sorry, it sucks.

The only time I realistically long to fly is in my dreams. I am not scared of planes, but the hoopla that goes along with preparing for a flight ruins the experience. I do not enjoy putting my toiletries in 3 oz. containers. I do not enjoy planning my outfit in order to avoid the beep beeps during security. I do not enjoy having to keep track of my ID and my ticket at the same time for whenever each individual airport decides they need to look at it. I do not enjoy taking my shoes off and walking on the floor. I do not enjoy when the beep beeps go off and I have to spread 'em in public. I especially do not enjoy paying $13 for a small bag of Jelly Belly jelly beans. I do not enjoy dumping my beverage at security only to purchase one for three times the cost less than 100 feet away. I do not enjoy sitting next to strangers during my travel. I do not enjoy idle chit chat, especially when completing with the sound of a large engine. I do not enjoy 6 oz of a beverage, I want the WHOLE THING. Also, pretzels are not my favorite. I want potato chips or cookies. And refills on all would be appreciated. I really do not enjoy waiting for my luggage during those occasions that I cant squeeze everything into one bag.

The only plus side to flying is arriving to a new, warmer, tropical location.

Monday, July 26, 2010

GECKO

Today's plate is: GECKO

Of course the first thought that comes to mind is the Gecko from Geico. With that lovely Australian accent, he inspired me to do some research on the Gecko.

Here's what I found (thanks to Wikipedia)

1. Some Gecko's are brightly colored, while others are more neutral colored
2. Not all Gecko's can change color to blend in with their environments
3. Not all Gecko's have eyelids - that's why they lick their eyes, to clean them.
4. Females can self-populate. THAT'S RIGHT!!! No need for a man! (I think I like this trait best)
5. The largest Gecko was found in the basement of a museum in France
6. Gecko's have a sweet tooth

So, here's where I think Geico should change their advertising angle...
1. Change from a male Gecko to a female...they get the job done just like Geico
2. Every add they should change the color of the female Gecko to show that Geico can adapt to various parts of the country (think earthquake, hurricane, and snow)
3. When talking about SUV's, they should film in the basement of a museum and use a much larger computer animated Gecko

Thursday, July 22, 2010

WHATEVA

Today's plate is: WHATEVA

I don't need your attitude. I don't need your childishness. I think the last time I seriously used the phrase "Whateva!" was definitely back in the '90's. I'm all set with seeing that on the car in front of me. In fact, this person better watch out. That plate may inspire someone to get a little crazy when driving behind them if they're suffering from one or more of the following:
1. PMS
2. A breakup
3. Getting fired
4. A family/friend death
5. Losing money in the stock market
6. Getting stole from
7. Getting lied to
8. Getting laid off
9. Not getting laid
10. Jealousy

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

DRAMA-1

Today's plate is: DRAMA-1

Guys...run for the hills!

Girls...roll your eyes!

This person is asking to be alone. I mean, really...if you are so full of drama that it is the one quality that you choose to advertise on your license plate then you are not a good person.

Nobody likes drama. Nobody wants to befriend drama. Nobody likes to date drama. However, I think wonder why shows like Bridezilla & Bachelor have drama filled ladies that actually get, keep, and marry a man! Who is the dude? His plate clearly reads BALL-LS ("Ball Less" for those of you who are not as well versed at decoding plates).

Friday, July 16, 2010

JUSTTRI

Today's plate is: JUSTTRI

If this person is going to ask me to "Just tri" then I'm going to throw it right back at them. I think they should just try to spell their vanity plate correctly.

I also would like to know what, exactly, they are asking me to tri. Do they want me to tri a new restaurant, to not tailgate them, to follow them? So many options!

Then again, what if I'm totally misreading this one...what if tri is not a misspelling of "try" but actually tri as in three. Then I have a new set of wonders...three...three...three, what?! Three way? Three tires? Three door? Three kids? Three boyfriends/girlfriends? Again, so many options.

Thursday, July 15, 2010

POBOY

Today's plate is: POBOY

If this were to be spelling grammatically correct, it would be spelling one of two ways:
Po' Boy (with the apostrophe to mark missing letters)
Poor Boy

I'm glad that this broke man has a car. I can only assume that because he was driving it that he can afford gas. Here's my suggestion. Get rid of your house or apartment. Save up the money that you would have spent on rent/mortgage. Then change your plate to NESTEGG.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

KBUG

Today's plate is: KBUG

So the Volkswagon bug made a come back. When I was 15 that was GREAT news. I definitely wanted one and even took one for a test drive when I was about 21. Thank goodness I knew how to drive stick because I wasn't willing to wait until an automatic bug was found. It was a fun ride. It do think it's a nice gimmick that there's a gigantic flower in each bug.

When a bug owner goes so far as to put the name of their vehicle in their plate it shows dedication...or obsession. I wonder what they will do when their bug breaks down - which it will because it's a Volkswagon (no offense) - and they have to switch to a Carolla (or another car in that price point). Then we are all going to think that they're referencing the poor mosquitos that get smashed on their windshield every warm day of the year.

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

AFLAC

Today's plate is: AFLAC

Hmm, I'm not so sure that I need to make any comments - but I will anyway!

Aflac is a company that hired amazing publicists. They launched a campaign featuring a talking, no, screaming duck. They launched stuffed animals that have the same scream. Adults know Aflac, children know Aflac, my 9 month old niece plays with an Aflac duck. But now...they have a license plate. And realistically, there are only 50 people in the whole United States that can have this wonderful plate. A plate the prompts each passerby to scream "AFLAC!"

I'm not impressed with those 50 people who approach their local DMV, RMV, WhateverMV counter with a form filled out in hand requesting this obnoxious plate.

I can't wait for Aflac to finally launch a new campaign in a new direction...

Monday, July 12, 2010

HALOFAN

Todays plate is: HALOFAN

I want to first say I have nothing against boys/men who play video games. I know my husband will be "watching" our children grow up as he plays halo, grand theft auto, and need for speed (call of duty will still be in our attic).

That being said - you have to be hardcore into halo to put it as your vanity plate. Also, what is your beef against other games? Why couldn't it have just been XBOXFAN? Basically, this dude is being a gameist. And yes, I'm going to go ahead and assume this is a dude (and yes I know what happens if you assume).

On another side note - this dude is paying $40 a year to maintain this vanity plate, $50 a year for XBOX live, $200 to buy the XBOX in the first place, $50 for halo, $50 for halo 2, $50 for halo 3, and something like $40 for ODST...not to mention downloading and/or purchasing all the map packs. That's a commitment...I wonder if they're in a relationship or if all of their ability to commit was used up on XBOX?

Sunday, July 11, 2010

RENWOD

Today's plate is: RENWOD (read backwards)

I think it says a lot about someone if they put this message on their primary source of transportation. I understand that, on the day you went to the DMV, you were having a bad day (PMS, Male PMS, whatever), but think about it before you commit to the plate and PAY for it.

My second thought came to me as I was writing out my first. What happens when you are driving in front of this car and you look back in your rearview mirror? Well, I think I can answer that: It would say DOWNER. What are the odds that this sad, depressed, wet blanket of a person would have had the forethought to come up with this little piece of heaven?

Saturday, July 10, 2010

Mic check on

I just linked this blog the a facebook fan page - you can check out the facebook fan page by searching for Unnecessary New Hampshire License Plates. Become and fan and see photos shared by other fans, submit your own, make comments, etc.

SHAGARU

Todays plate is: SHAGARU

This was found on a Subaru Tribeca (the SUV). This is comical for a few reasons...
1. It's a throwback to the 70's where "shag" = sex
b. It's a reference to the Shaggin' Wagon (Volkswagen van)
3. It's a family vehicle
4. It's a play on subaru
e. It's on a vehicle that almost nobody drives

New Hampshire, I thank you for entertaining me!

Thursday, July 8, 2010

GSD LUVR

GSD LUVR (Virginia) This is a plate that we saw on our commute back up the coast. This is actually a special one for us, as we ourselves own a wonderful german shepherd. Tomorrow I will start up on the New Hampshire plates

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

GA8TORS

GA8TORS (Georgia) The Gators fan phenomenon is running rampant in Florida. Ivy Craig, you may enjoy this! The Gators fanship has spread to Georgia! (and North Caroling in the Smith household, Beth East Smith). Why are we using incorrect spellings?! And when did it become OK to use numbers to signify letters that are missing? Furthermore, the 8 was UNNECESSARY (there's my tie in).

Monday, July 5, 2010

RSOX GAL (Florida) as we make our way to the rays vs. Red sox game, this plate made us proud. The red sox are so amazing that they have fans all over. Go sox!

Saturday, July 3, 2010

JAMESON (Georgia) if I were a cop I would pull this person over and give him a breathalyzer just because he's advertising his alcohol of choice. Or his last name, but the whiskey is a much more comical interpretation.

Thursday, July 1, 2010

DOO POP (North Carolina) I'm wondering if the is a reference to mountain dew being pop or if doo bop was taken.
FATSMA (Virginia) well, I'm not sure that my opinion on this can make this any funnier.