The Point

Many have asked me why I created this blog, or were confused why I asked people to visit. Here's the reason: Have you ever driven in NH and seen a license plate in front of you that makes you wonder what they were thinking? If you say no, then you're lying. The general population of NH that utilizes the free custom plate option tend to make a bad decision on what their plates say. However, in their slight defense...there are so many custom plates that all the necessary ones are taken. Thus, we are left with the UNNECESSARY!

Thanks for visiting, come back soon and comment often!

Monthly Featured Plate

Monthly Featured Plate
July 2010 - Sent via Text

Friday, August 6, 2010

LANDSCPE

Today's plate is: LNDSCPE

Who you gonna call? LANDSCAPERS!

I almost thought about following this dude to get him to come to my house and do some labor, but then realized that's what I have a husband for. (and family)

I also have to point out my great appreciation for this person for adding the 'E' on the end, because we all know that the magic e at the end makes the vowel (which is missing) that precedes it say its own name. This made it much easier to decode this plate.

I had a thought the other day that maybe license plates should be like college ID's. You know, like econant or econan(insert number here). That would take the unnecessary vanity out of a plate and in its place put an understandable amount of vanity. Also, it would create a sense of community on the streets. Think of how great it would be to know the person's name that is driving in front and behind you. Then when they do something stupid you can accurately curse them out. Also, business vehicles could include their business name or type of service provided like this fine plate featured today.

Thursday, August 5, 2010

P8TRSFN

In honor of training camp beginning, I have a plate for all those Patriot's Fans!

Today's plate is: P8RTSFN

Jesse and I found this plate at Gillette stadium last week when we went for the first day of training camp. Let me tell you, the parking lot was a mine field of amazing plates! Apparently many people from New Hampshire got the day off of work (cough, cough, SICK CALL!!!) to come down and see the good ol' Patriots work out. Unfortunately it was raining, so I did not get many pictures.

One suggestion for the fan: I was able to decipher this plate - but then spent about two minutes trying to figure out how it worked. The T should come before the R in order to make the PA-TREE-OTS (see how the T comes first?).

Let's cross our fingers and hope for an amazing season - at least a better record than the Colts, Jets, Dolphins, and the Cowboys.

Wednesday, July 28, 2010

TRKSTR

Today's plate is: TRKSTR

This could go one of two ways. I could comment on Trickster or Track Star. Or both!

If I see a plate in front of me that says TRKSTR, and I assume that they are a trickster, I will start evaluating their choices in a different way. For instance, when my brother knows I'm following him in an unfamiliar place he puts on his left blinker when turning right, and vice versa. My husband does the same thing. I have learned that no matter what, plan to go the opposite direction. Thus, when this trickster puts on their right blinker, I will go ahead and giggle because they are obviously turning left. Then I will attempt to pass them on the right. A motorcycle once did this to me, however I am not a trickster and was actually planning to take said right turn. He crashed into my car. Unlucky day for him...you know what happens when motorcyclists assume...

If I see a plate in front of me that says TRKSTR, and I assume that they are a Track Star, I am going to think twice about trying to get away with a hit and run. The driver very well may be able to catch up with me because he is quite the runner. I also may refrain from giving them the finger and then turning into the parking lot of my neighborhood grocery store. He may also park his car and run me down...literally.

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

LNG2FLY

Today's plate is: LNG2FLY

I guess if you really wanted to fly you should buy a plane. Unfortunately in the year 2010 we do not have hovercrafts or jetpacked skateboards. I know, I'm sorry, it sucks.

The only time I realistically long to fly is in my dreams. I am not scared of planes, but the hoopla that goes along with preparing for a flight ruins the experience. I do not enjoy putting my toiletries in 3 oz. containers. I do not enjoy planning my outfit in order to avoid the beep beeps during security. I do not enjoy having to keep track of my ID and my ticket at the same time for whenever each individual airport decides they need to look at it. I do not enjoy taking my shoes off and walking on the floor. I do not enjoy when the beep beeps go off and I have to spread 'em in public. I especially do not enjoy paying $13 for a small bag of Jelly Belly jelly beans. I do not enjoy dumping my beverage at security only to purchase one for three times the cost less than 100 feet away. I do not enjoy sitting next to strangers during my travel. I do not enjoy idle chit chat, especially when completing with the sound of a large engine. I do not enjoy 6 oz of a beverage, I want the WHOLE THING. Also, pretzels are not my favorite. I want potato chips or cookies. And refills on all would be appreciated. I really do not enjoy waiting for my luggage during those occasions that I cant squeeze everything into one bag.

The only plus side to flying is arriving to a new, warmer, tropical location.

Monday, July 26, 2010

GECKO

Today's plate is: GECKO

Of course the first thought that comes to mind is the Gecko from Geico. With that lovely Australian accent, he inspired me to do some research on the Gecko.

Here's what I found (thanks to Wikipedia)

1. Some Gecko's are brightly colored, while others are more neutral colored
2. Not all Gecko's can change color to blend in with their environments
3. Not all Gecko's have eyelids - that's why they lick their eyes, to clean them.
4. Females can self-populate. THAT'S RIGHT!!! No need for a man! (I think I like this trait best)
5. The largest Gecko was found in the basement of a museum in France
6. Gecko's have a sweet tooth

So, here's where I think Geico should change their advertising angle...
1. Change from a male Gecko to a female...they get the job done just like Geico
2. Every add they should change the color of the female Gecko to show that Geico can adapt to various parts of the country (think earthquake, hurricane, and snow)
3. When talking about SUV's, they should film in the basement of a museum and use a much larger computer animated Gecko

Thursday, July 22, 2010

WHATEVA

Today's plate is: WHATEVA

I don't need your attitude. I don't need your childishness. I think the last time I seriously used the phrase "Whateva!" was definitely back in the '90's. I'm all set with seeing that on the car in front of me. In fact, this person better watch out. That plate may inspire someone to get a little crazy when driving behind them if they're suffering from one or more of the following:
1. PMS
2. A breakup
3. Getting fired
4. A family/friend death
5. Losing money in the stock market
6. Getting stole from
7. Getting lied to
8. Getting laid off
9. Not getting laid
10. Jealousy

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

DRAMA-1

Today's plate is: DRAMA-1

Guys...run for the hills!

Girls...roll your eyes!

This person is asking to be alone. I mean, really...if you are so full of drama that it is the one quality that you choose to advertise on your license plate then you are not a good person.

Nobody likes drama. Nobody wants to befriend drama. Nobody likes to date drama. However, I think wonder why shows like Bridezilla & Bachelor have drama filled ladies that actually get, keep, and marry a man! Who is the dude? His plate clearly reads BALL-LS ("Ball Less" for those of you who are not as well versed at decoding plates).

Friday, July 16, 2010

JUSTTRI

Today's plate is: JUSTTRI

If this person is going to ask me to "Just tri" then I'm going to throw it right back at them. I think they should just try to spell their vanity plate correctly.

I also would like to know what, exactly, they are asking me to tri. Do they want me to tri a new restaurant, to not tailgate them, to follow them? So many options!

Then again, what if I'm totally misreading this one...what if tri is not a misspelling of "try" but actually tri as in three. Then I have a new set of wonders...three...three...three, what?! Three way? Three tires? Three door? Three kids? Three boyfriends/girlfriends? Again, so many options.

Thursday, July 15, 2010

POBOY

Today's plate is: POBOY

If this were to be spelling grammatically correct, it would be spelling one of two ways:
Po' Boy (with the apostrophe to mark missing letters)
Poor Boy

I'm glad that this broke man has a car. I can only assume that because he was driving it that he can afford gas. Here's my suggestion. Get rid of your house or apartment. Save up the money that you would have spent on rent/mortgage. Then change your plate to NESTEGG.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

KBUG

Today's plate is: KBUG

So the Volkswagon bug made a come back. When I was 15 that was GREAT news. I definitely wanted one and even took one for a test drive when I was about 21. Thank goodness I knew how to drive stick because I wasn't willing to wait until an automatic bug was found. It was a fun ride. It do think it's a nice gimmick that there's a gigantic flower in each bug.

When a bug owner goes so far as to put the name of their vehicle in their plate it shows dedication...or obsession. I wonder what they will do when their bug breaks down - which it will because it's a Volkswagon (no offense) - and they have to switch to a Carolla (or another car in that price point). Then we are all going to think that they're referencing the poor mosquitos that get smashed on their windshield every warm day of the year.

Tuesday, July 13, 2010

AFLAC

Today's plate is: AFLAC

Hmm, I'm not so sure that I need to make any comments - but I will anyway!

Aflac is a company that hired amazing publicists. They launched a campaign featuring a talking, no, screaming duck. They launched stuffed animals that have the same scream. Adults know Aflac, children know Aflac, my 9 month old niece plays with an Aflac duck. But now...they have a license plate. And realistically, there are only 50 people in the whole United States that can have this wonderful plate. A plate the prompts each passerby to scream "AFLAC!"

I'm not impressed with those 50 people who approach their local DMV, RMV, WhateverMV counter with a form filled out in hand requesting this obnoxious plate.

I can't wait for Aflac to finally launch a new campaign in a new direction...

Monday, July 12, 2010

HALOFAN

Todays plate is: HALOFAN

I want to first say I have nothing against boys/men who play video games. I know my husband will be "watching" our children grow up as he plays halo, grand theft auto, and need for speed (call of duty will still be in our attic).

That being said - you have to be hardcore into halo to put it as your vanity plate. Also, what is your beef against other games? Why couldn't it have just been XBOXFAN? Basically, this dude is being a gameist. And yes, I'm going to go ahead and assume this is a dude (and yes I know what happens if you assume).

On another side note - this dude is paying $40 a year to maintain this vanity plate, $50 a year for XBOX live, $200 to buy the XBOX in the first place, $50 for halo, $50 for halo 2, $50 for halo 3, and something like $40 for ODST...not to mention downloading and/or purchasing all the map packs. That's a commitment...I wonder if they're in a relationship or if all of their ability to commit was used up on XBOX?

Sunday, July 11, 2010

RENWOD

Today's plate is: RENWOD (read backwards)

I think it says a lot about someone if they put this message on their primary source of transportation. I understand that, on the day you went to the DMV, you were having a bad day (PMS, Male PMS, whatever), but think about it before you commit to the plate and PAY for it.

My second thought came to me as I was writing out my first. What happens when you are driving in front of this car and you look back in your rearview mirror? Well, I think I can answer that: It would say DOWNER. What are the odds that this sad, depressed, wet blanket of a person would have had the forethought to come up with this little piece of heaven?

Saturday, July 10, 2010

Mic check on

I just linked this blog the a facebook fan page - you can check out the facebook fan page by searching for Unnecessary New Hampshire License Plates. Become and fan and see photos shared by other fans, submit your own, make comments, etc.

SHAGARU

Todays plate is: SHAGARU

This was found on a Subaru Tribeca (the SUV). This is comical for a few reasons...
1. It's a throwback to the 70's where "shag" = sex
b. It's a reference to the Shaggin' Wagon (Volkswagen van)
3. It's a family vehicle
4. It's a play on subaru
e. It's on a vehicle that almost nobody drives

New Hampshire, I thank you for entertaining me!

Thursday, July 8, 2010

GSD LUVR

GSD LUVR (Virginia) This is a plate that we saw on our commute back up the coast. This is actually a special one for us, as we ourselves own a wonderful german shepherd. Tomorrow I will start up on the New Hampshire plates

Tuesday, July 6, 2010

GA8TORS

GA8TORS (Georgia) The Gators fan phenomenon is running rampant in Florida. Ivy Craig, you may enjoy this! The Gators fanship has spread to Georgia! (and North Caroling in the Smith household, Beth East Smith). Why are we using incorrect spellings?! And when did it become OK to use numbers to signify letters that are missing? Furthermore, the 8 was UNNECESSARY (there's my tie in).

Monday, July 5, 2010

RSOX GAL (Florida) as we make our way to the rays vs. Red sox game, this plate made us proud. The red sox are so amazing that they have fans all over. Go sox!

Saturday, July 3, 2010

JAMESON (Georgia) if I were a cop I would pull this person over and give him a breathalyzer just because he's advertising his alcohol of choice. Or his last name, but the whiskey is a much more comical interpretation.

Thursday, July 1, 2010

DOO POP (North Carolina) I'm wondering if the is a reference to mountain dew being pop or if doo bop was taken.
FATSMA (Virginia) well, I'm not sure that my opinion on this can make this any funnier.

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

CHRG IT (Virginia) this was found on a Nissan. In my opinion, the lady owner is sending out the wrong financial advice to the drivers on 95 South.
SHDYLDY (Virginia) this is not a trait that I would advertise...but that's just me.

Saturday, June 26, 2010

DESU (Maryland) read this one backwards. P.S. It's a WRX and the boys in the car think you shoul never buy this type of car used because people beat this car up!
HAV HOPE (Maryland) on a sexy lexy - and I totally plan on having hope of owning a Lexus rx 400h

Friday, June 25, 2010

THE GAME (Virginia) wow!
HEEDFL1 (Maryland) they're a heedful owner of a beautiful BMW
MY B8AY (Maryland) bonus points if you can decode this one!
I COAST (Maryland) did they forget the heart? I heart coast?
GREEN T (Maryland) on a vehicle that not only is green but does not start with a T

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

MY2GRLS (Georgia) donated to the blog by my
Mom - Julia
DTH TRP (Connecticut) donated to the blog by Miss Bridget

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

LUCKE-1

Today's plate is: LUCKE-1

Now this is a plate that I can get into! 1) I'm Irish so, hypothetically, lucky. 2) I'm a teacher and I am officially on a 10 day vacation - how lucky (sorry, lucke) is that?

I do wish, however, that this person had learned from their teachers to use the correct spelling of the word lucky as opposed to inventive spelling. I have second graders that know how to spell that word.

Just an FYI - the blog is going for a little trip...I am expanding it to beyond New Hampshire for the next few weeks. I have seen some lovely plates from other states besides NH and my mom sent me one from Georgia. So, from now until July 8th - send in your non-NH unnecessary plates :)

Monday, June 21, 2010

CAMP

Today's post is for all of those individuals who support America's youth during the summer!

The plate is: CAMP

Camp is an experience that I look forward to each year and treasured each moment. Camp is a time to build friendships that last a lifetime. Camp is a working experience that none other can compare to! My brother worked at a camp for a few years - and he loved every difficult second of it! He was underpaid and overworked. I was jealous.

Now, as an adult and as a teacher, my coworkers, acquaintances, and friends still return to work at a camp each summer. They get to hold on to that culture and continue to meet new people from all over the world.

So to those individuals who have already worked their last day and trekked to camp, or those that are heading that way this week - have fun, good luck, stay safe, and enjoy the memories you're making for yourself and for the kids!

Friday, June 18, 2010

XCAV8N

Today's plate is: XCAV8N

For those of you who don't speak 13, that translates to EXCAVATING. I wanted to get a handle on what this New Hampshirite was really trying to tell its viewers, so here's the definition from www.yourdictionary.com:
Excavate definition
ex-ca-vat'-ing
1. to make a hole or cavity in, as by digging; hollow out
2. to form by hollowing our; dig
3. to uncover or expose by digging; unearth
4. to dig out (earth, soil, etc.)

When you're driving through New Hampshire, at what town do you have the opportunity to come across ancient ruins or make a tunnel? It is plates like these that I wish we had started recording the TYPE of vehicle, as that would have given information as to whether or not this person could actually use said vehicle to hollow something out or expose something.

This is where I think people are reaching in order to sport a vanity plate.

Notice how I didn't even harp on the use of a number for a letter. That is so awful to me that I'm not even ready to go there yet.

Thursday, June 17, 2010

UNHMOM

Today's plate is: UNHMOM

Congratulations! You're child made it to college! Question: What year did they start? Question: How long have they been there? Question: Are they Van Wilder? Because, honestly, if my child is not going to go to college for 8 plus years then it's not worth it for me to get that plate.

Oh, but here's an idea. What is UNH bought that mother out and took ownership of that plate? Then they could designate it to one lucky mother each year based on her child's grades, her monetary donations, etc. Then everyone in NH would know who the best college mommy is...maybe I should write a letter to UNH and share the nugget of wisdom.

Wednesday, June 16, 2010

RUN

Today's plate is: RUN

After last night's performance by the Celtics, I keep coming back to the fact that this is a good message to pass on to Ray Ray, Pauly, KG, Rondo, Big Baby, etc.

My next thought, almost immediate, is something like this: "Why the hell would you put RUN on your license plate when you're clearly an advocate of driving!" Keep in mind that this is my thought on a Wednesday morning upon waking. Bitterness at having to be awake is in effect.

Oh, wait. I have a third: I'm happy that you're a runner. That's a healthy lifestyle! (Where are all your marathon stickers?) If I ever see you in the line for a fast food restaurant we will have words. Just saying.

One more thing: POLL ANSWER!

The answer was C. NH did not have the first library - it had the first library that charged money (jerks). We did grow the first potato, have the first women's strike, and the first lottery. Go NH!

Tuesday, June 15, 2010

COOK4U

Today's plate is: COOK4U

Well, certainly, if you want to! I would love for this person to come and cook for me anytime! Here's a question: How much does a magnet decal cost? Because for the up front $55 and the $40 a year it cost you to pick out that little number, couldn't you have bought a formal decal with a phone number, business name, etc.? Now, in order to take advantage of your amazing offer to cook for me (sorry, cook4me) I need to stalk you to your next location. Thank you for wasting all that time for me, and then not following through!

Monday, June 14, 2010

LIL Z

Todays plate is: LIL Z

In a land where country music, Dave Matthews Band, Guster, and OAR are huge big hits on WKNE, LIL Z seems to not fit in.

As I'm writing this I'm sitting and having breakfast with Jesse. I turned to him and asked, "When you think of NH, what music comes to mind?" He replied, "I don't think of music when I think of NH." So I read him the aforementioned list. He had his ah-ha moment and then added this little nugglet..."I also think of Wiggers." Wow. Is my husband brilliant or what? Just for the record, I waited until now to tell him the plate of the day and his response is: "Oh, haha, that's bad"

I remember rollin' around Keene, NH in my Toyota Tercel (and later my Ford Focus wagon) "bumpin" to songs by Ludacris, JaRule, Eminem, Eminem (yes, I meant to write that twice), Jay-Z, Fabulus, etc. I sang those lyrics with every ounce of soul I could muster (which isn't a lot). Keep in mind, though, that those songs are not meant to be sung - and that is why people in NH shouldn't be allowed to listen to them.

Sunday, June 13, 2010

Weekend

Today is Stacey's baby-girl shower. I am hopeful that I will pick up at least one plate to add to our ever growing list!

I want to send out a thank you to those of you who have sent me fun plates! I appreciate all of the effort! We had enough to bring us through at least the next six months...now we can continue to amuse!

Friday, June 11, 2010

RRR MOM

Today's plate is: RRR MOM

Now, I know that's we've touched on this briefly before, in terms of someone's girl. However, claiming to be RRR MOM is not a whole lot better. Now, I could be quite biased. I have a friend, Melissa, who has a license plate with her children's initials and I think that is fabulous. However, I do not think naming all your children with the same letter of the alphabet is fabulous. But that's must my humble opinion.

Some names that I can think of that start with R are: Ryan, Robert, Reynold, Ryann, Rose, Roberta, Roxanne, Rena, Rylie, Rebecca, Roger.

I have to say, not a one of those names am I a huge fan of.

Let me know if you can think of other 'R' combinations to add to the mix,

Thursday, June 10, 2010

PAH CAH

Today's plate is: PAH CAH

This individual certainly got some entertainment from mocking the boston accent. I have to give them credit for creativity. I do not have to give them full credit as they could have just gotten a bumper sticker. I also will say that my husband and I spent a few seconds repeating this plate over and over to try to figure out its meaning.

Recent information gathered (not by Chris, but by Michelle) was that a vanity plate in NH costs $55.00 to purchase. My thoughts on that are as follows: Congratulations NH for making a wad of cash! Bumper stickers that give the same message as your license plate are $5. NH should give a discount if people can accurately spell their message.

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

TRASH

Today's plate is: TRASH

The need for me to write something witty is pretty slim. Trash says a lot. I had originally typed "...says it all" but then thought twice about that. I could infer what town from New Hampshire this person was from, but I didn't really know. I could also infer what taste in music, clothing, and sporting events this person was interested in, but I didn't really know. I could infer a lot - and I know that you can too - but nothing could be confirmed without a picture of the car and/or the person in it.

So here's my challenge: Find TRASH and take a picture and send it to me.

Tuesday, June 8, 2010

FISHIN

Today's plate is: FISHIN

Let me start with the most obvious. You have 7 letters available to you. Therefore, your plate should read FISHING. Which leads me to my next point, someone probably has FISHING. Now, fishing is a wonderful event. It's calming, relaxing, requires some strategy. I thoroughly enjoy fishing. I do not, however, enjoy seeing that plate in my line of vision. Just saying.

Monday, June 7, 2010

LILMAMA

Plate of the day: LILMAMA

For those of you who have been to NH, you clearly understand why this is inappropriate. When you see a statement such as "lil mamma" what image comes to mind...? Correct! A short gal with a little bit of thug in her. When you think of a gal from NH what image comes to mind...? Me too! A taller gal with a bit of beef, work boots, can hold her own when doing chores and of course a Red Sox hat. Just because your plate holds some attitude doesn't mean that you do.

By the way, GO CELTICS!

Sunday, June 6, 2010

Weekend

To those of you who think that this blog is strictly here to make fun of New Hampshire - I have a little treat for you.

I was at a bridal shower today (Congrats Amanda!) and I saw this: DREEMN and by the way, it was a Massachusetts plate. Thank you citizen of Massachusetts, your contribution to my blog is helpful on this Sunday.

P.S. I may be posting a correction on the cost of vanity plates in New Hampshire. Chris, your homework is two-fold: become a member, and give me the cost of a New Hampshire vanity plate.

Saturday, June 5, 2010

Weekend

It's Saturday. Just so y'all know I will not be posting plates on the weekends. This is a time for my followers to travel to NH themselves, check out the plates, and send in some suggestions and/or photos. Thank you in advance!

But, what I will provide for you are some You Tube videos inspired by the Granite State. Be sure to check out the Granite State of Mind video - it is fairly amazing! Let me know your initial thoughts on that gem. I did not preview the others that are listed, but I'm sure they're OK.

Enjoy the weekend! It's pretty gorgeous outside!

Friday, June 4, 2010

BENSMOM

Plate of the day: BENSMOM

This was an interesting find for two reasons.
1) I don't mind the fact that a momma is proud of her baby. However, I feel bad for her other kids (if she has them) and I hope the other family cars have license plates such as ANASMOM or TIMSMOM. It would only be fair.

2) My husband roomed with a guy named Ben in college. His poor mom was the brunt of almost all jokes. Basically a good go-to punch line was "Ben's Mom". In Keene, NH there is a Pumpkin Festival each October. While walking the crowded side streets where everyone parks - we found this gem. We of course took a picture, so that will probably be featured in October.

Thursday, June 3, 2010

SUDSY

Our plate today is: SUDSY

Now, when going through a car wash, this is appropriate. As a decal (magnetized) on the side of your car to advertise your business, this makes sense. But what would inspire you to make it your custom license plate for the world to see?

Wednesday, June 2, 2010

GIDYUP

Our plate of the day is: GIDYUP

Our thoughts: could New Hampshire be any more cliche? Probably. But, no need to try harder with this active advocate at changing their reputation.